16. Track Editing

This post introduces the part of the blog that will be of most interest to people I hope, as it includes information on how I actually went about editing each track for the compilation, and runs as a compliment to the studio mix discussion earlier.


As mentioned in other areas of the blog, I had set myself various guidelines in terms of the editing, in particular making sure the arrangements were tight, and I was respectful to the original tracks duration.

The method mixing reared it’s nostalgic head again during the editing process, as touching upon the CD importing post earlier, the only music I listened to during the entire 6 months of producing the album was the CD singles of all the tracks on the compilation, the third party compilations used as inspiration, and anything pre 1999.

This rule did drive me slightly insane at times, but I truly believe that it helped me get into the true spirit of what I was doing, and each time I came to edit one of the tracks I sat and listened to the entire CD single of the track, absorbing the remixes and listening out and trying to capture the essence of the track in my mind before I got heavy handed with the splicing.


For each track that follows I have included a screenshot of the arrangement in Ableton, so you can see exactly where the edit points are, and I’ve also included pictures of the CD or 12″ release that correspond to the actual physical version I sourced for the track (which also match up with the label info in the original Euphoria album sleeve).

Note: some of the track arrangement pictures have white lines in the waveforms, this is nothing to do with the audio, it’s just the zoom level in Ableton and the graphic rendering.

Finally, I have included audio samples of  just over a minute of each of the track mix points so you can hear exactly what I’m talking about when I’m discussing the transitions. The samples fade in so make sure to have your volume set low.


0 Responses to “16. Track Editing”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: