18. The Artwork

Possibly the shortest post of the blog, this post discusses the concept and creation of the artwork used for the compilation and uploads of the artwork itself.


Click to enlarge

The front cover was very much a homage to the early Euphoria albums such as ‘True’ and ‘Total’ where the original lens flare was replaced with an expanding radial burst, and I found that by adding a metallic gradient to the background it gave the cover an almost foil like quality.

The choice of using silver and black for the colour scheme was due to examining special and anniversary editions of a number of products and recognising similarities in the choice of colours, plus aluminium & tin are the official materials to represent a decennial (aka 10th anniversary).


Click To Enlarge

As you can see from the picture, I used a super jewel box case for the compilation after researching modren advancements in CD packaging. I Ideally would have preferred to use original double disc and cardboard sleeves similar to the original album, but no printing plants wanted to do short runs with the materials, I would have had to order a mimimum of 100  which was overkill even for me for a uni project!

Again the colour scheme is just a flip of the front cover, using the black of the logo as the background and the silver of the lens burst as the text colour.

You will also notice I created a mock up of the Ministry of Sound barcode and catalogue number for added “authenticity”.


Click To Enlarge

Click To Enlarge

The artwork for the CDs is possibly the simplest of the entire project, I wanted to keep things as uncomplicated as possible due to not wanting any problems from the printing plant, and added the copyright,  compact disc and Ministry of Sound logos for added detail.


Click To Enlarge

Click To Enlarge

Click To Enlarge

The CD inlay booklet was again a fairly simple affair, using the silver and black colour scheme and replicating elements from the original Euphoria CD booklet such as the copyright information and the dictionary term.

Originally I wanted to use the original tagline from the first album ‘experience a higher state of mind’ and change it to ‘re experience a higher state of mind’ but as you can see, when written down it looks odd.



0 Responses to “18. The Artwork”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: