CD02/11: Agnelli & Nelson – El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño CDS

Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño CDS

Original Track Length: 8:37

Original Track Key: Am

Edited Track Length: 3:46

Edited Track Key: Bbm

Following Track Mix Point: 3:17

Following Track Key: Cm

Following Track Transition: Tone Above

‘El Niño’ was a welcome relief in terms of editing after the relative intricacy of ‘Shine’ previously, as all I had to do here was take a short section from the first breakdown to speed up the proceedings and thanks to the solid arrangement of ‘El Niño’, remove the entire buildup before the second breakdown and attach the end of the second breakdown onto the first, which created a single breakdown version of the track.

I then went on to remove a 16 bar section from the outro to tighten the flow ready for the introduction of ‘Nightmare’ which comes in at 3:17.

It is worth pointing out here that bringing ‘Nightmare’ into the mix was an odd choice for me, as although I would never really mix these two tracks together in a set, I found the sound design of each track very similar in places, which can be heard in the percussion of both tracks towards the end, with the snare of  ‘Nightmare’ perfectly complimenting the blend.

Mix transition between ‘El Niño’ & ‘Nightmare’ :

Another aspect worth pointing out is the drastic change of key to a tone above, as this kind of transition is usually reserved for a boost in energy and used for quick fades or crossovers, and I used it here to introduce a complete change in mood for the next 3 tracks, I wanted to make a point that the mood of the disc was going down a different path – very similar to how ‘Walk With Me’ blends into ‘Getting Away With It’ on the first disc.

CD211 el nino

'El Niño' track arrangement : click to enlarge



0 Responses to “CD02/11: Agnelli & Nelson – El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: