CD02/16: Binary Finary – 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

Binary Finary - 1998 CDS

Binary Finary - 1998 CDS

Original Track Length: 7:15

Original Track Key: Cm

Edited Track Length: 5:09

Edited Track Key: N/A

Following Track Mix Point: 4:41

Following Track Key: Gm

Following Track Transition: Dominant (perfect 5th)

Another track that needed minimal editing was ‘1998’ as not only did I have ample time left on the disc for the remaining tracks, but the track itself was very clear-cut in terms of arrangement, and the only editing I decided to use was trim the build up before the breakdown down to 32 bars – I find having the breakdown appear after one minute quite natural sounding, and it echoes production in tracks too, as the first minute of most club mixes are used solely for the DJ to mix in with (it’s possibly where the term ‘club mix’ originated too).

The final bit of editing was based around the outro in which I made sure that it fitted into a 32 bar progression ready for the introduction of ‘No Other Love’ which comes in at 4:41.

The transition between ‘1998’ & ‘No Other Love’ is one of my favourites, as the composition of the two tracks melody lines compliment each other very well, and I’m making a guess here that maybe they both used the same synthesiser too, as at first listen they actually sound part of the same track as they blend – the synth and pads of ‘No Other Love’ sounding very complimentary to ‘1998’ in terms of sound design.

Mix transition between ‘1998’ & ‘No Other Love’ :

CD216 Binary

'1998' track arrangement : click to enlarge



0 Responses to “CD02/16: Binary Finary – 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: