CD01/15: Coyote – Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

Coyote - Spirits Dancing 12" Vinyl

Coyote - Spirits Dancing 12" Vinyl

Original Track Length: 11:40

Original Track Key: Cm

Edited Track Length: 3:43

Edited Track Key: Dbm (semitone increase)

Following Track Mix Point: 2:48

Following Track Key: Abm

Following Track Transition: Dominant (perfect 5th)

‘Spirits Dancing’ beckoned in the first track for the 2 discs that was only available on 12″ Vinyl, and as such had to be processed and cleaned up before even entering into Ableton as it needed the various pops and dust crackles removing, and the volume boosting.

From an editing point of view it was incredibly tough, as editing a track that is originally 11:40 (!) to just 3:43 would need a lot of attention to detail to try and keep the overall vibe intact.

The main focus for the editing was to make the track have only one breakdown similar to ‘Blue Fear’ previously, and alter the progression to follow a strict 16/32 bar rule.

The breakdown was very difficult to edit, as there were lots of overlapping reverb tails and backing vocals going on, and to do this successfully I had to layer the track twice on a separate channel in Ableton, and use cross-fade techniques to mix from one audio file to the next, and it was these short 10 millisecond overlaps that helped ease in the transitions. Although this works, I must admit I find this short section to be my main gripe across the two discs, as it is not as perfect as the standards I like to set myself.

‘For An Angel’ comes in at 2:48 and the main idea of bringing the track in here was that the percussion loops of ‘For An Angel’ were using complimentary frequencies and rhythms to what was going on in ‘Spirits Dancing’ and after a shuffling of the outro arrangement of ‘Spirits Dancing’ I found the build up to ‘For An Angel’ to work far better rhythmically than expected.

Mix transition between ‘Spirits Dancing’ & ‘For An Angel’ :

CD115 Spirits Dancing

'Spirits Dancing' track arrangement : click to enlarge


0 Responses to “CD01/15: Coyote – Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: