CD01/08: Josh Wink – Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy’s Higher Stated Mix)

Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness '96 Remixes

Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness '96 Remixes

Original Track Length: 6:45

Original Track Key: Abm

Edited Track Length: 4:44

Edited Track Key: N/A

Following Track Mix Point: 4:15

Following Track Key: Dbm

Following Track Transition: Subdominant (perfect 4th)

This track was another record that did not get the exposure it deserved on the original Euphoria album, only being given 2:32 on the compilation – and interestingly this is the only track across the 2 discs that actually ended up actually being the ‘perfect’ 4:44 edit length discussed earlier in the blog – pretty apt considering the project title!

I decided to focus my arrangement and editing around the main breakdown at 1:39 – 3:04, as this is, in my opinion the main aspect of the whole track, and gives the real surge of energy that the CD needed at this point.

The following bars became quite tricky because there was a random 1 bar section added onto the original arrangement, and this was something I had to carefully edit out for my take on things, as I wanted the following track to be flowing underneath this section and it was upsetting the 16/32 bar rule I had planned. I solved this by taking some of the following bars and removed a one bar section from one of the parts, and then glued that onto the original extra one bar part to complete the phrase.

The very beginning of the track was edited to fit the arrangement better (the section you hear coming in over ‘Walk With Me’) by extending the complete cycle of the motif, to fit a 16 bar sequence. A good point to mention here is that both tracks contain a sustained string motif, and the continuation of this theme across the mix of the two records really added to my choice in the tracklisting.

The following track ‘Repeated Love’ comes in at 4:15, and works quite satisfactorily due to the major/minor chord progression of ‘Higher State Of Consciousness’ blanketing the bass progression of ‘Repeated Love’. A technique taken from my analysis of  Gatecrasher Wet came in here, as I had ‘Repeated Love’ come in after ‘Higher State Of Consciousness’ for not only the key complimenting, but also the similarity to their track elements – both tracks have a number of elements more in common with house, compared to some of the more trance based records featured across the CD.

Mix transition between ‘Higher State of Consciousness’ & ‘Repeated Love’ :

CD108 Josh

'Higher State Of Consciousness' track arrangement : click to enlarge


0 Responses to “CD01/08: Josh Wink – Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy’s Higher Stated Mix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: