CD01/10: Moonman – Don’t Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

Moonman - Don't Be Afraid CD1

Moonman - Don't Be Afraid CD1

Original Track Length:  6:47

Original Track Key: Gm

Edited Track Length: 3:04

Edited Track Key: Gbm (semitone decrease)

Following Track Mix Point: 2:35

Following Track Key: Em

Following Track Transition: Tone Below

This was a track that surprised me from an editing point of view, as the original track is 6:47 long, and when I came to trim the arrangement down I realised there was not actually enough variation going on to even validate having the track playing for more than 3 minutes, the arrangement was quite simple with hardly any variation, and I was surprised that I managed to fit all the major points of the original track into just over 3 minutes with relative ease.

The main aspects of the audio editing were focused on the mix point from ‘Repeated Love’, where I edited and looped the vocals of ‘Don’t Be Afraid’ so that the word “afraid” came in just before the track marker hit – this was done to also coincide with the main chord synth being introduced.

I added an extra chorus loop at 2:07 and looped the section at 2:35 so that the bass frequencies of the following track could be introduced with the whispered vocal of “you don’t have to be” riding over the top.

I also wanted to make the mix transition between the tracks bring attention to the fact that from this point onwards, the CD would be stepping up a gear in terms of tempo and track style, and as such the choice of following track mirrors the original Euphoria compilation for this very fact.

Mix transition between ‘Don’t Be Afraid’ & ‘My Soul’ :

CD110 Moonman

'Don't Be Araid' track arrangement : click to enlarge


0 Responses to “CD01/10: Moonman – Don’t Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: