CD02/03: Nalin & Kane – Beachball (Original Club Mix)

Nalin & Kane - Beachball CDS

Nalin & Kane - Beachball CDS

Original Track Length: 10:24

Original Track Key: Dm

Edited Track Length: 5:45

Edited Track Key: N/A

Following Track Mix Point: 5:15

Following Track Key: Gm

Following Track Transition: Subdominant (perfect 4th)

‘Beachball’ was another track that proved very difficult to edit, as the original was a mammoth 10:24 and it took a number of repeat listens to try and figure out exactly what sections could be chopped away and what sections could be preserved without losing any of the original character of the track.

The main audio editing took place around the intro which was chopped and modified to fit in before the bass drops (heard over the outro of ‘Stella’) and a number of points after the first drop where altered to fit into a more definitive 16/32 bar progression.

This proved infuriating at times because although the track itself has very obvious transients and is pretty sparse in terms of sound design, there were a number of backing sound effects such as waves and birds that had long release times and reverb tails which meant I had to scrub through the track very carefully and splice things together to fit from other areas of the track.

Another major area of focus was based around the tribal section before the second breakdown, where I had to shorten the progression to fit over 32 bars, but keep the flow of the rhythm at the same time.

The breakdown was edited to develop more swiftly, and the last drop before the outro was reshuffled to bring in the pads and the backing synths straight away to give the impression of a final chorus and allow enough time for the outro to fade into the introduction of ‘Symphony’ which appears at 5:15.

Mix transition between ‘Beachball’ & ‘Symphony’ :

CD203 beachball

'Beachball' track arrangement : click to enlarge


0 Responses to “CD02/03: Nalin & Kane – Beachball (Original Club Mix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: