CD01/16: Paul Van Dyk – For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel CDS

Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel CDS

Original Track Length: 7:48

Original Track Key: Am

Edited Track Length: 3:15

Edited Track Key: Abm (semitone decrease)

Following Track Mix Point: 2:47

Following Track Key: Bbm

Following Track Transition: Tone Above

Arguably one of the most recognisable tracks across the entire 2 discs, ‘For An Angel’ is one of a handful of tracks on the compilation that still gets played today, and as such I wanted to do something in my editing and mixing that gave the track context and meaning rather than having it just slapped on the compilation with no thought (which seems to be the case with a number of compilation albums these days).

The first area of focus for the editing was the intro section before the track begins (the section you hear in the closing bars of ‘Spirits Dancing’). This section was actually at 3:43 on the original club mix of ‘For An Angel’, and whilst practising and working out the mix points I discovered it would be the perfect place to use that section as an intro and then swap it’s natural progression into the second breakdown with the first – setting up the track marker so the first thing you heard when the track markers changed was the first breakdown. This also happens to be how the official radio edit of ‘For An Angel’ starts too.

As far as arrangement editing went, I trimmed the length down to keep in with the time constraints by removing one of the breakdowns and trimmed the ending section so it evolved over 16 bars rather than 32.

One final aspect of the audio editing was that when ‘Seven Days And One Weekis introduced at 2:47 I removed all the bass frequencies below 280Hz as this helped emphasise the change in key to a tone above. The final bars of  ‘For An Angel’ did not have any drums and I used the evolving synth drone to help ease the transition into the following track by closing the high pass filter to allow the bass of the drone to filter in just before the track ends so to bring a little drama to the change in track.

Mix transition between ‘For An Angel’ & ‘Seven Days And One Week’ :

It was interesting to note (no pun intended) that although a tone above shift is usually associated with a shift in gear and an energy lift – I used it here to give an energy lift before the track change, as ‘Seven Days And One Week’ has a very stripped down and deeper atmosphere to the majority of the previous tracks, and the shift in key helped boost the energy enough to compensate for this.

CD116 for an angel

'For An Angel' track arrangement : click to enlarge


0 Responses to “CD01/16: Paul Van Dyk – For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: