CD02/05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola – Dreaming (Lange Mix)

Arrola - Dreaming 12" Vinyl

Arrola - Dreaming 12" Vinyl

Original Track Length: 9:02

Original Track Key: Cm

Edited Track Length: 3:48

Edited Track Key: N/A

Following Track Mix Point: 3:19

Following Track Key: Fm

Following Track Transition: Subdominant (perfect 4th)

The editing for ‘Dreaming’ was focused around 3 particular segments:

Firstly I edited the track down to fit into a more radio edit style arrangement, which involved starting the track at the first break which appears at 2:17 of the original mix (the earlier 2 minutes can be heard filtering in over the outro of ‘Symphony’ previously).

Secondly I removed everything after the first break right up until the track kicks back in after the second breakdown (which appears at 7:47 of the full length mix). I then attached this section onto the end of the first breakdown as the production and track elements were identical (at last an effortless edit!).

Finally, I extended the outro to 16 bars to fit in with the introduction of ‘Set in Stone’ which comes in at 3:19.

An interesting point to note is that during the transition of the two tracks I discovered a way of mixing I’d not used before which was to filter in the highs of the following track only during the last bar of the previous track, as having all the highs come in immediately or even gradually over the 16 bars was too much, but by waiting for the high frequency FX sweep at the end of ‘Dreaming’ I could open the low pass filter underneath the sweep to disguise the crescendo and in the process make it sound more natural.

Mix transition between ‘Dreaming’ & ‘Set In Stone’ :

'Dreaming' Track Arrangement

'Dreaming' track arrangement : click to enlarge


0 Responses to “CD02/05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola – Dreaming (Lange Mix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: