CD02/14: Sash! – Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant ‘Toke On This’ Mix)

Sash! Encore Une Fois CDS

Sash! Encore Une Fois CDS

Original Track Length: 9:42

Original Track Key: Bm

Edited Track Length: 3:54

Edited Track Key: Bbm (semitone decrease)

Following Track Mix Point: 3:25

Following Track Key: Bbm

Following Track Transition: Tonic (root)

I started the editing for ‘Encore Une Fois’ by taking a small section of a backing synth from the main breakdown and looping this continually (similar to what I did with ‘Meet Her At The Love Parade’ on the first disc) to create a soundbed which I then merged with elements of the intro of the mix to create the opening transition from ‘I Can’t Help Myself’.

The main reason for doing this was because I wanted the track to start at the breakdown of the original mix, and had I used the actual build up from the mix before the breakdown it would have sounded too similar to what was going on in ‘I Can’t Help Myself’, and I wanted to have a change in mood.

The final aspect of the editing was based around trimming the outro to flow over 32 bars, and at the point where ‘The Silence’ is introduced at 3:25, I had to splice a section of the vocal from another area of the track to complete the phrase as the cut left a gap, and I really wanted to have the vocal finish its phrase as I felt it was a great audio cue for the introduction of ‘The Silence’.

Mix transition between ‘Encore Une Fois’ & ‘The Silence’ :

A final note on the editing is that this was the only track where I did not let the arrangement flow fully towards the next track – I silenced the arrangement one bar short before the next track to bring focus on the vocal snippet from ‘The Silence’, which again was a knowing wink to the original Euphoria.

CD214 sash

'Encore Une Fois' track arrangement : click to enlarge



0 Responses to “CD02/14: Sash! – Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant ‘Toke On This’ Mix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: