CD02/10: The Space Brothers – Shine (Full Vocal 12″ Mix)

Space Brothers - Shine CDS

Space Brothers - Shine CDS

Original Track Length: 6:33

Original Track Key: Am

Edited Track Length: 4:28

Edited Track Key: Bbm (semitone increase)

Following Track Mix Point: 4:00

Following Track Key: Bbm

Following Track Transition: Tonic (root)

The editing for ‘Shine’ was focused around altering the intro so that it extended longer to enable it to fit underneath the outro of ‘Café Del Mar’, and slight changes were implemented to the drop after the first breakdown to allow the progression to flow over 32 bars before the second verse was introduced.

The outro had some very small changes, in particular extending the choral parts towards the end, and using a one bar section from previous part of the track to complete the crash cymbal and reverb sweep.

The mix as a whole was quite intricate in terms of editing, for each time I removed a section to tighten the arrangement, I found inconsistencies in the sound design such as backing synths or reverb tails, and I had to constantly scrub through the track to find replacement sections at the end of each motif.

The final 16 bars of the track at 4:00 is actually an edited version of the intro spliced into the outro of the original mix, as I felt this gave the mix a more cohesive blend into ‘El Niño’ which follows, especially considering the transition is a root note too, as mixes of this nature are as close to seamless harmonically as you can get.

Mix transition between ‘Shine’ & ‘El Niño‘ :

CD210 shine

'Shine' track arrangement : click to enlarge



0 Responses to “CD02/10: The Space Brothers – Shine (Full Vocal 12″ Mix)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: