CD01/13: Ventura – Birds (Instrumental)

Ventura - Birds (The Remixes) CDS

Ventura - Birds (The Remixes) CDS

Original Track Length: 7:21

Original Track Key: Bbm

Edited Track Length: 3:59

Edited Track Key: Bm (semitone increase)

Following Track Mix Point: 3:16

Following Track Key: Bm

Following Track Transition: Tonic (root)

This track was the most infuriating track to edit of the entire 2 discs, as the warping in Ableton would not give me a definitive tempo for the track, it was all over the place with various tempo changes inserted, and I’m guessing this was because the original track was made up of various audio files timestretched, rather than being sequenced as one whole track originally.

From an editing point of view, I removed the entire intro of the original (which was a shame as it was really atmospheric) and also 16 bars of the guitar outro, to help the flow towards ‘Blue Fear’ which follows.

During the breakdown at 0:56 I trimmed 16 bars from the duration to allow a snappier progression, and also removed a few more bars after the breakdown to keep the length down – you can hear this slightly at 2:48.

The way the following track comes in at 3:16 is my favourite transition of the entire 2 discs, as both the tracks are in the same key, and the way they flow together is beautiful in my opinion, the chord progression of ‘Blue Fear’ melts beautifully over the melody of ‘Birds’.

Finally, as ‘Birds’ had a long guitar outro that had to be removed due to time constraints, I managed to use a volume fade quickly during a 1 second synth note at 3:58 to disguise the transition into ‘Blue Fear’.

Mix transition between ‘Birds’ & ‘Blue Fear’ :

CD113 Birds

'Birds' track arrangement : click to enlarge


0 Responses to “CD01/13: Ventura – Birds (Instrumental)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


1. Welcome
2. Rationale Behind The Project
3. My Background
4. Euphoria Brand Background
5. Original Compilation Analysis Part 1
6. Original Compilation Analysis Part 2
7. What Makes An Anniversary Edition?
8. Obtaining The Tracks
9. Importing The CDs
10. Importing The Vinyl
11. Third Party Influences
12. Mixing The Album Part 1: The Live Sessions
13. Track Warping In Ableton Live
14. Mixing The Album Part 2: The Studio Sessions
15. Harmonic Mixing
16. Track Editing
17. Mastering The Compilation
18. The Artwork


01: Karen Ramirez - Looking For Love (Trouser Enthusiast’s Joy Of Sex Mix)

02: Chakra - Home (Original Mix)

03: Billy Hendrix - Body Shine (Original 12 Inch Mix)

04: Da Hool - Meet Her At The Love Parade (Nalin & Kane Remix)

05: Faithless - Insomnia (Moody Mix)

06: The Egg - Getting Away With It (Rollo Indared Mix)

07: Heliotropic - Walk With Me (Mix No.1)

08: Josh Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesy's Higher Stated Mix)

09: A.T.G.O.C - Repeated Love (Ibiza Mix)

10: Moonman - Don't Be Afraid (Brittany Remix)

11: Lost Tribe - My Soul

12: Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

13: Ventura - Birds (Instrumental)

14: Armin - Blue Fear (Trouser Enthusiasts E.B.E Remix)

15: Coyote - Spirits Dancing (Mix#1)

16: Paul Van Dyk - For An Angel (PVD E-Werk Club Mix)

17: B.B.E - Seven Days And One Week (Club Mix)

18: BT - Flaming June (BT & PVD Mix)


01: Way Out West - Domination (Album Version)

02: Jam & Spoon - Stella

03: Nalin & Kane - Beachball (Original Club Mix)

04: Hybrid - Symphony (Original Mix)

05: Ruff Driverz Presents Arrola - Dreaming (Lange Mix)

06: Bedrock - Set In Stone

07: Humate - Love Stimulation (Paul Van Dyk's Love-Club Mix)

08: The Age Of Love - The Age Of Love (Paul Van Dyk Love Of Age Mix)

09: Energy 52 - Café Del Mar '98 (Original Three 'N One Mix)

10: The Space Brothers - Shine (Full Vocal 12" Mix)

11: Agnelli & Nelson - El Niño (Matt Darey Latino Remix)

12: Brainbug - Nightmare (Original Sinister Strings Mix)

13: Lucid - I Can't Help Myself (Judge Jules Remix)

14: Sash! - Encore Une Fois (The Powerplant 'Toke On This' Mix)

15: Mike Koglin - The Silence (12" Club Mix)

16: Binary Finary - 1998 (Matt Darey Mix)

17: Blue Amazon - No Other Love (Original 12" Mix)

18: Lost Tribe - Angel


%d bloggers like this: